Day 2

This next step was easy and I quickly arranged all the texts. Now that I new what the mistakes could be, I was more careful.

Screen Shot 2016-11-28 at 11.23.30 AM.png

There were  a few changes I had to make to make the type more clear, as it wasn’t very legible. I added the ghost box around it to avoid any disturbance from the background texture of the wood which was making less legible.

 

Screen Shot 2016-11-30 at 11.27.19 AM.pngScreen Shot 2016-11-30 at 11.06.24 AM.png

Final poster:

Screen Shot 2016-12-07 at 10.47.59 AM.png

It was really nice to print it out on this scale as everything was more clear and bigger in this one. I found that after putting in all the type on my poster, the poster started looking more complete. It filled up a few spaces where the eye would rest and activated the space.

Overall, this project was a test of all the knowledge that we learned though the previous projects and in a sense reflected what we know about type.

Reflection:

After completing type 1, I now think that as a designer, this class had affected me a lot. Right from the beginning when we learned about the letter forms, I started to notice my surroundings like never before. Looking at letters had become more like looking at shapes, which could be combined to give a meaning. Getting away from the idea of treating type as type was difficult at first but as we did more of it, especially in arabic, which I am not fluent in, I have learned to analyze text as image and look at type around me and think about what made the designer make the decision of using this color, or typeface etc.

I am and will be applying all my knowledge into other areas and I believe this what i should be doing as a designer. My biggest struggle in this project was understanding why we did what we did. The most obvious reason for this is that I have to read more about things that are related to this and put my thinking in a way that guides me in the right direction. I recently showed my word poster to one of my friends who is not in the design field, her reaction was so unexpected and she couldn’t believe that this poster was made by hand.

To me, this was really surprising to know because we put so much effort into it and by the end when people see it on display, they don’t realize the effort put into it and don’t give much thought. This is not I want people to think. I want my work to be something that people stop and look at to understand why we did what we did. This is something that I still have to understand to get over with. I was always used to appreciation of work because of its beauty, but now, the thought behind something is equally as important as how beautiful it is.

I hope to develop my understanding of type through reading more and looking at existing type. I believe this will be the way to develop myself as a designer and expand my knowledge about type.

 

Author: nimrahkabiruddin

Graphic Design Sophomore

Leave a Reply

