Day 4

Final Compositions

Type face: Tanseek M regular

Arabic and English citation

Type face:Adobe Arabic

For my A4 final composition, I used a different typeface that I hadn’t tried but only known that it was used in a Qur’anic script a day before. My classmate mentioned this to me and said that it works best for my paragraph as its from the Quran. I loved this type of the very unique glyphs that it had. And as my sentence was very serious and was supposed to be repulsive, making it the opposite would make it more interesting.

screen-shot-2016-11-25-at-11-21-49-am

For the A3 composition,  I used Adobe Arabic as it resembled the common typeface used in the Qur’an. For the composition, I wanted to add emphasis on the verse which was the most repulsive and so I chose the one that translated to : “And [some] faces, that day, will be contorted.”  and I made it bold and increased the point size to align it with the rest of the paragraph.

screen-shot-2016-11-25-at-11-22-02-amscreen-shot-2016-11-25-at-11-22-23-am

The brackets that I found for the Adobe Arabic typeface were also very beautiful and I really likes it organic shapes and reminded me henna designs which was my initial idea when I was creating the word project.

I used the guidelines to align the text in an aesthetic way keeping in mind the way the paragraph was divided. I broke the paragraph every place when it ended with a specific topic. For example, the first section of the paragraph says;

  • Man will say on that Day, “Where is the [place of] escape?”
  • No! There is no refuge.
  • To your Lord, that Day, is the [place of] permanence.
  • Man will be informed that Day of what he sent ahead and kept back.
  • Rather, man, against himself, will be a witness,
  • Even if he presents his excuses.

and the next sentence on the next paragraph section starts with a different aspect and says;

  • Move not your tongue with it, [O Muhammad], to hasten with recitation of the Qur’an.
  • Indeed, upon Us is its collection [in your heart] and [to make possible] its recitation.
  • So when We have recited it [through Gabriel], then follow its recitation.
  • Then upon Us is its clarification [to you].
  • No! But you love the immediate
  • And leave the Hereafter.
  • [Some] faces, that Day, will be radiant,
  • Looking at their Lord.

The third section starts with the punishment, distinguishing from the previous verses which talked about the reward. It says;

  • And [some] faces, that Day, will be contorted,
  • Expecting that there will be done to them [something] backbreaking.
  • No! When the soul has reached the collar bones
  • And it is said, “Who will cure [him]?”
  • And the dying one is certain that it is the [time of] separation
  • And the leg is wound about the leg,
  • To your Lord, that Day, will be the procession.
  • And the disbeliever had not believed, nor had he prayed.

By learning that everything that we had on the page needs to be an informed decision, I considered thinking about what I was doing and tried to explain it.

The alignment worked for me because of the balance created using the 4 sections. I first found the centre of the page and then copied my paragraph just on the left of the centre as centre did not work for this kind of type.

screen-shot-2016-11-25-at-11-16-38-am

screen-shot-2016-11-25-at-11-11-08-am
Final A3 composition

 

One thing about my paragraph that I was not sure about was–the citation. It was in English in the beginning as I thought it was important to let people know that it was a Qur’anic text. However, after asking a few people and explaining why I wanted to use English they all preferred the Arabic citation as it looked awkward to give the English one. So I changed my citations to Arabic and reprinted them.

For this paragraph, I chose a simple composition, dividing the paragraph in two big sections where I equally divided them in a character length of about 63 characters per line. I increased the leading by 3 points to make the text look more open and legible.I used the centre and then aligned the text on both sides of the centre and to me it looked aesthetic  on the page.

screen-shot-2016-11-25-at-11-09-49-am
Final A4 composition
Author: nimrahkabiruddin

Graphic Design Sophomore

Leave a Reply

