Day 3

For today, I had tried using some things that Basma had taught us last class such as the glyphs to make stylized letters. I also tried breaking up the paragraph more as i wasn’t doing much of this before. We also were now aware of the 50% grey that we need to achieve to make our paragraph look good on the page. If it’s too dark I realized from a distance and when you squint, that it just appears as a block of black. However, the thinner and lighter the typeface was, the more it looked good aesthetically as well as gave it more breathing space.

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-9-17-32-am screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-9-17-55-am

As I was doing more, It was becoming more and more tedious to work because of my repetitive way of working. I was doing similar things again and again and broke up the paragraph in a very limited way. In class, I saw people experimenting with their paragraphs by breaking them in all kinds of ways by taking the meaning behind the sentence. For me, as it was arabic text, I was afraid of doing something like that which might not make sense at all and for that reason I did not try it.

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-9-16-38-amscreen-shot-2016-11-23-at-9-15-48-amscreen-shot-2016-11-23-at-9-15-27-am

In class, we critiqued others work. Writing why we liked it or disliked it and considering the key elements: Typeface, tracking, leading, weight, point size, layout and composition, intervals and words or characters per line. I had chosen an arabic paragraph and critiqued about its leading and point size. Doing this, helped me to think critically about what might be wrong and how the person can improve her paragraph composition. This was a step that many of us did before every class, but instead, we only talked about it but never wrote it. I think saying it was much easier than writing it in words. What I learned from this was that this process helps us more in terms of really understanding critique which will also help us to do the same for our own work.

Critique on my work:

img_20161121_125254img_20161121_125329

I had a composition where I divided the paragraph into two sections, like in a newspaper. I had also bold italicized it. So my classmate Reham critiqued in a very direct way and I think it was very helpful to get feedback from her. She mentioned that the paragraph is divided into a poem and that is not important and wasn’t needed. To me, I did not think of it in that way so I considered that point of her. Other critiques that she gave were also right that I used italics and bold which made is dark and not good to look at. She also mentioned that my citation should include the name of the Surah (chapter). I went to her later and asked more about the citation as even I was not sure about it. But I followed this format from an example I saw online so I did the same.

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-5-42-15-am

I had also received critique from the professors saying that the paragraph should be divided. This only one of my tries which was not divided so I knew that I wasn’t going to use this composition. However, this helped others who did not do arabic compositions about what can be a mistake and not work well.

Next class was the deadline for submitting this and I knew what I had to do. I also asked feedback from other classmates showing my other compositions and asking what’s working for them and what’s not. After doing that, I knew what I will focus on when i make the final compositions.

Author: nimrahkabiruddin

Graphic Design Sophomore

Leave a Reply

