Day 2

Type setting the paragraph:

I finalized my paragraph with the Qur’anic one because its meaning was a repulsive reminder, its not so much about it being ugly, which is another meaning. I took the meaning  lack of sympathy, because through out the paragraph, God is telling people that if they have done wrong, they will not be given any sort of help during the time of judgement and that there is no place of escape for the people who deny and turn away.

I used translation of the paragraph to help me understand the verses so I can make informed decisions when type setting.

  1. Man will say on that Day, “Where is the [place of] escape?”
  2. No! There is no refuge.
  3. To your Lord, that Day, is the [place of] permanence.
  4. Man will be informed that Day of what he sent ahead and kept back.
  5. Rather, man, against himself, will be a witness,
  6. Even if he presents his excuses.
  7. Move not your tongue with it, [O Muhammad], to hasten with recitation of the Qur’an.
  8. Indeed, upon Us is its collection [in your heart] and [to make possible] its recitation.
  9. So when We have recited it [through Gabriel], then follow its recitation.
  10. Then upon Us is its clarification [to you].
  11. No! But you love the immediate
  12. And leave the Hereafter.
  13. [Some] faces, that Day, will be radiant,
  14. Looking at their Lord.
  15. And [some] faces, that Day, will be contorted,
  16. Expecting that there will be done to them [something] backbreaking.
  17. No! When the soul has reached the collar bones
  18. And it is said, “Who will cure [him]?”
  19. And the dying one is certain that it is the [time of] separation
  20. And the leg is wound about the leg,
  21. To your Lord, that Day, will be the procession.
  22. And the disbeliever had not believed, nor had he prayed.
  23. But [instead], he denied and turned away.screen-shot-2016-11-24-at-6-29-12-pm

  ‭ ‬‭            ‬ 

As I was working with Qur’anic type, I was very conscious about how to divide the paragraphs in terms of certain rules that might exist about using Qur’anic text. No one else in class was using Qur’anic text so I asked my professor about it. Also, Basma had come in to help us learn Arabic type better and to show us some things we could do with it. So I thought it would be a good chance to ask.

They said that I should treat the text in the form of type and not a Qur’anic text because we are leaning about how to put a paragraph on a page. This made it easier for me as i was concerned about how to use the text.

During class we learned about many different things about Indesign’s Arabic features. These things included; how to adjust diacritic marks, justification, indentation, glyphs, kashida etc… It was interesting to know about the glyphs and that they can help add a touch of fluidity and movement in the text.

Screen Shot 2016-11-20 at 8.05.03 PM.png

During class critique, we learned some very important things about paragraphs. This included the Ragged edge of the paragraph, the tracking, rivers, widows and orphans and other basic things like the character length, type size and kerning. The ones that we did for class today were lacking all of this as we were not conscious of it.

screen-shot-2016-11-23-at-5-40-59-amscreen-shot-2016-11-23-at-5-40-48-am

I used the baseline grid as guides for the paragraphs. This helped in aligning separate parts of the paragraph.

screen-shot-2016-11-16-at-9-31-33-am  screen-shot-2016-11-16-at-9-30-37-am

After class, I was aware of the rag, so that’s the first thing I thought of changing. I made them all look as close to being justified as it made them look neat. I tried other things like playing with techniques used for the sentence, dividing into three parts and aligning them to make it look good and using kashida to adjust the rag.

screen-shot-2016-11-16-at-9-30-02-amscreen-shot-2016-11-23-at-5-42-05-am

I started to realize how important the rag was to make it look like a proper paragraph. However , I did also notice that the kashida were not appropriate in some areas as they emphasized on words that did not need to be emphasized. Also, the way I broke the paragraphs looked awkward because it looked like a news paper article to me.I wasn’t sure about how I could divide my paragraph in a way that makes and has an informed decision behind it.

 

Author: nimrahkabiruddin

Graphic Design Sophomore

Leave a Reply

