Week 1- Starting Off

This project was about creating 9 sketches that had a 50/50 balance of two letters, where one is white and the other is black. I was introduced to this project with very little knowledge about Type and had an obscure idea of what I was required to do.

The first few tries went wrong, giving me a learning experience of what I shouldn’t do. Our first critique was very helpful, and I learned a lot from my mistakes.

screen-shot-2016-08-23-at-10-04-09-pm

Here, the idea of one black letter and one white was correct but after the critique I later realized that all the negative space that exists should be part of the letter.

screen-shot-2016-09-06-at-10-56-52-pm

This was the only one which was close to getting the rules right. However, I knew that I have a lot of work to do after this as I had now understood all the rules properly and was sure about what I had to make.

screen-shot-2016-09-06-at-10-56-30-pm

Author: nimrahkabiruddin

Graphic Design Sophomore

Leave a Reply

